Return to Headlines

Two WSD Educators Named Regional Physical Education Teachers of the Year

Two PE teachers, Ami Schulte of Timberland and Jennifer Werner of Wentzville Middle, have been named SHAPE America Central District Physical Education Teacher of the Year for their respective grade levels by the Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE) America. Schulte and Werner were both selected among state teachers of the year to represent the Central District which includes nine states: Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wyoming. They are both now eligible for SHAPE America National Physical Education Teacher of the Year at their grade level.


 “To have two Central District recipients from the same school district for two consecutive years is unprecedented,” said Executive Director of the Missouri Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance Dr. Thomas Loughrey. “This continues the Wentzville School District tradition of being representative of the highest quality educators.”


Ami Schulte, who has worked for the WSD since 2002, is well known for her innovative teaching strategies and zest for creating strong relationships with her students. “This is a tremendous accomplishment for Mrs. Schulte and Timberland High School,” said Dr. Kyle Lindquist, principal of Timberland High School, “We are extremely proud of Mrs. Schulte and this wonderful accomplishment.”


Jennifer Werner has only worked for the WSD since 2019, but according to Principal Kelly Mantz, she has quickly found ways for her students to become involved in new learning, diligent in finding ways to be inclusive of all students and always seeks new paths for students to succeed. “We were thrilled when Jennifer joined our PE staff because of the positivity, passion, and commitment that she has been able to share with our staff and our students.  She deserves to be recognized for her dedication to our students,” Mantz said.



Schulte and Werner will undergo a series of interviews with national leaders in the field. The National Teachers of the Year will be announced during the 2021 SHAPE America National Convention and Exposition to be held in Baltimore in April 2021.



Ami Schulte  Jennifer Werner