• Congratulations to Lisa Waltenberger, a math and Project Lead the Way teacher at Timberland High School. She has been selected as a Finalist for the 2019 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). The award is the highest recognition that a K-12 mathematics or science teacher can receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. 

    The awards are given to mathematics and science teachers from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions. It recognizes those teachers who develop and implement a high-quality instructional program that enhances student learning. Waltenberger is only one of two math teachers in Missouri selected to represent the state as finalists for the PAEMST. “I am incredibly honored to be a state finalist for this award,” said Waltenberger. “I am thankful for the opportunities in the Wentzville School District to grow professionally and the ability to incorporate various teaching methods into my classroom. I am looking forward to another great school year with the amazing students at Timberland High School!”

    Waltenberger is the eighth WSD educator in eight years to receive this prestigious recognition for excellence in teaching. Two WSD educators, Laura Parn and Katherine Schack, were named recipients of the Presidential Award in 2012 and 2014, respectively.

    “We are blessed to have Lisa at Timberland High School. She always puts students first and is wonderful at building relationships with them,” said Timberland Principal Dr. Kyle Lindquist. “She is an innovative teacher who has her students achieving at the highest level. Lisa is very deserving of this great honor.”

    The White House will announce the winners next year. Those selected for this presidential honor will receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also are invited to Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony, educational events, and visits with members of Congress and the Administration. The PAEMST award was established by Congress in 1983, and the program authorizes the President of the United States to bestow up to 108 awards each year. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.